About - Transport Training

Who We Are

Transport Training Services is a social enterprise focusing on apprenticeships and career development training specifically for the retail motor trade and transport industry in Northern Ireland. Backed by over 50 years’ experience as a leading, recognised transport training service provider, our advice is sought after and trusted around the UK and Ireland.

Since the late 1960s as Road Transport Training Board and then since 1992 as Transport Training Services, TTS has supported the development of the transport and motor industries most important resource – its people. These industry sectors have changed over the years and continue to evolve at an ever-increasing rate with advances in technology and the ever-changing business environment. TTS is here to help industry and the people employed in those sectors to meet the current and future challenges by delivering the relevant skills, knowledge and qualifications.

OUR MISSION, VISION & AIMS

In its simplest form, our overall aim is to promote and provide training for the road transport, passenger transport and retail motor industries across Northern Ireland.
TTS’s role is to ensure:
  • Current and future industry training needs are identified, understood and addressed
  • The correct level of qualifications and training are available to meet these needs
  • Employees and new entrants to the transport and motor industry receive appropriate training
  • Employers provide training for their workforce

Mission

To develop and embed a training culture which will improve the skills and productivity of the Northern Ireland transport and motor industry workforce.

Vision

A transport and motor industry where skills and competence are at the core of every business, supported by a respected and valued TTS organisation.

Aims

  • TTS is respected and valued by industry, stakeholders and staff
  • The industry invests in skills and qualifications to improve safety and profitability
  • TTS is customer-focused, flexible, responsive and supportive
  • TTS is a strong voice for skills and informs Government policy
  • Communication is clear and direct
  • Qualifications and occupational competencies meet the needs of the NI industry

WHAT WE DO &
WHY WE DO IT

We offer accredited courses and bespoke training to develop talent for businesses and for career-driven individuals. Our focus is never simply on passing exams, but on providing class-leading expertise, purpose-built facilities and modern teaching methods to deliver relevant skills for the 21st century.

As a wholly owned subsidiary of the registered charity, Transport Training Board for Northern Ireland, TTS has a genuine, longstanding interest in facilitating best practice and the highest levels of compliance for the industries that we serve.

We also seek to provide any automotive or transport industry related professional organisation with a ‘bricks and mortar’ home in Northern Ireland.

Word from the CEO

The task of the team here at TTS is to help fulfil the mission of the TTB registered charity – to support skills and training for people and businesses in the NI transport and motor sectors.

The training facilities here at Nutts Corner are effectively owned by NI industry so our aim is to continually engage with local businesses, listen to the skills needed and endeavour to deliver effective training to meet those needs; ranging from driver training, compliance courses and technical specialisms.

We also provide career advice and guidance, specialising in helping to recruit and train apprentices starting a career in the transport or motor industries.

On behalf of the executive board of Transport Training Services and our training delivery team, we look forward to supporting you, whether you are an individual seeking career development, a young person wishing to enter the motor or transport sector for the first time, or you represent a company seeking skills for your staff.

  • Martin Hutchinson
  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Transport Training Services

Meet The Team
Behind TTS

Martin Hutchinson
Chief Executive

martin.hutchinson@transporttraining.org

Andrew McCracken
Finance Director

andrewm@transporttraining.org

Stephen Wilkinson
Training Director

stephenw@transporttraining.org

Kate Todd
Course Administrator

katet@transporttraining.org

Linda Haylock
Course Administrator

linda@transporttraining.org

Stefan Coulter
Administration Assistant

stefanc@transporttraining.org

Robert Deignan
Careers Development Officer

robertd@transporttraining.org

Andy Baird
Logistics Consultant

andrewb@transporttraining.org

James Brady
Technical Training Consultant

james.brady@transporttraining.org

Michael Hutchinson
Technical Trainer (Heavy Vehicle & Light Vehicle Repair)

michaelh@transporttraining.org

Frank McNally
Technical Trainer (Body Repair and Refinishing)

frank.mcnally@transporttraining.org

Gary Pearce
Technical Trainer (Light Vehicle Repair

garyp@transporttraining.org

John Walsh
Technical Trainer (Light Vehicle Repair)

johnw@transporttraining.org

Andy Semple
Technical Trainer

andys@transporttraining.org

Sandra Fleming
Catering Manager

sandraf@transporttraining.org

Anne Larmour
Cleaning Assistant

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy

Always Staying Ahead